Playthings of Mad Gods

GLOG Class: Nadir

Oath-bound warriors of the Far West, they are a somber folk. They are those who cast away their own freedoms in return for powers given by the Oaths of Moonless Nights. Legends say that every oath made during the Moonless Night will be kept, and that the price for their keeping shall always be too great.

Generated by HanzoAI

Nadir:

Oath-bound: You took upon yourself an oath, and you intend to keep it until your death. The more it takes from you, the more power it gives you. You also know the method to make more Oaths - you may take one when in view of the sky, at night, while the moon is not visible. Oaths are listed at the end of this post - choose one at character creation.

As Long As I Breathe: Your Oaths will keep you alive long past what should be possible. For each Oath you took, you may ignore one blow that would otherwise have killed you - as long as you live, you may not be completely incapacitated. This number resets when you meditate under the Moonless Sky.

In the Dark of the Night: (This assumes you use my system of light management. If not, you just see in the dark as well as in light.) You gain a to-hit and AC bonus equal to 4-Light Level, as the darkness covers your body in an armour of its own.

Black Tears: Your tears turn black, covering your cheeks in a steady stream of black liquid. It is a grave poison - only you and other Oath-bound are immune, as your hearts are already turned black. Anyone else who touches it (and feels emotions) is overcame with melancholy and feelings of meaninglessness. They must save each round(during combat) and each turn (during exploration)to be able to do anything but weep. This curse may only be broken by a true love's embrace(it may be platonic or romantic - as long as the person would be ready to sacrifice themselves for the accursed they may lift it).

Oath-giver: You have proven yourself worthy to the Dark Powers - they have granted you the greatest power they hold, a part of their own. You make take a person's oath under the Moonless Sky - they immediately gain its effects.

Oaths

The following list is not exhaustive - ask your GM if you want to take on more.

My lips shall never meet food nor water. Thus I will show my devotion.
Effect: You may never die from starvation nor lack of water. You will never be sated - you will become gaunt, your skin will crack. You will not die and will not feel any mechanical consequences.
Effect of Breaking: If you ever decide to break the oath, food turns into smoldering ashes and water turns into bubbling mud. They will still satiate you, but they will hurt. For an hour after eating you have disadvantage on all tests.

I will destroy [subject]. I will not suffer them to live, and I will search for them until I kill them all. Thus I will show my devotion.
Effect: You have advantage on all attacks against the subject of this oath. The group may be as wide as "Undead" or a whole species, or as small as a single family or even a single person. If you destroy this group, immediately roll a save. If failed, you must take this oath again, against another group. If succeeded, you may remove it from your sheet.
Effect of Breaking: The penance for breaking this oath is simple - you become marked for death, just like you have marked your enemies for death. Whenever you roll for Death and Dismemberment (or your equivalent) roll twice and take the worse result.

I will never lie. Not to save another. Not to save myself. Not to save the whole world. Thus I will show my devotion.
Effect: You may always tell if someone is lying or telling the truth.
Effect of Breaking: Your tongue splits and bleeds whenever you speak. For each sentence said, you take 1 HP damage.

I will serve my master, no matter what they want me to do. If he/she/they command me, I shall throw myself into fire. If they command me, I will crush the heads of my children as they beg for mercy. Thus I will show my devotion.
Effect: Your devotion grands you armor. You have a permanent bonus of +4 to your AC. Your master has to be an actual living person who is in your life. If they die of anything but unrelated sickness, you have broken your oath. If you have not and yet they died, you must choose a new master related (by blood or ideas) to your old one.
Effect of Breaking: Your armour now reforges itself into chains that bind you - divide your speed by 2.

I will have no masters but the Darkness. I will not take orders from anyone - I will spit in the faces of the divine and kings. Thus I will show my devotion.
Effect: You may never be bound, and you are as fast as humanly possible - regardless of the terrain you are moving on.
Effect of Breaking: You become marked as a criminal - the bleeding wound on your forehead may never heal nor be concealed.

*I will have no home - not even a tent. Each night I will sleep under the clouds, battered by the elements. Thus I will show my devotion.
Effect: +3 bonus to dealt damage, as the wounds you deal fester and cover in boils.
Effect of Breaking: The ruin you have once dealt upon your enemies now extends to every building you are in. Every day you will sleep in a bed you will wake up with your sheets covered in mold. The building will collapse in a month if you still use it as your home, as the foundations erode with unnatural speed.

#Class #GLOG